I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 54 (LS)

As amended.

Introduced by:

J. A. Lujan Edward J.B. Calvo <u>A. R. Unpingco</u> Frank F. Blas, Jr. James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio David L.G. Shimizu Ray Tenorio J. T. Won Pat

Relative to commending and congratulating the Center Management and Staff of the Agana Heights, Agat, Astumbo, Dededo, Inarajan, Mangilao/Barrigada, Merizo, Santa Rita, Sinajana, Tamuning, Yigo, and the Yona/Talofofo Senior Citizen Centers during Senior Citizens Month 2007.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN

2 GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* recognizes the 4 hard work and dedication of the staff and management of our island's twelve 5 (12) Senior Citizen Centers. These individuals render invaluable services to 6 our island, most especially our elderly; and WHEREAS, their work ensures that our Seniors have highly functional
 facilities where they can remain socially active and keep abreast of important
 local current events; and

WHEREAS, because of the care and diligence of these individuals, our *Manåmko* can continue to live enjoyable and productive lives during their
golden years; and

WHEREAS, this May we gather again to honor our *Manåmko* – the
living memories of our past – as well as the management and staff of the
Senior Citizen Centers, who made possible the comfort our Seniors enjoy; and

10 WHEREAS, we would like to formally recognize Ana S. Gay, Center 11 Manager, Agana Heights; Johnny T. Afaisen, Center Manager, Agat; Lugene 12 K.U. Santos and Estella A. Nauta, Center Managers, Astumbo; Dorothy P. Sanders and Remy R. Gamboa, Center Managers, Dededo; Carmela V. 13 14 Sanchez, Center Manager, Inarajan; Therese Chargualaf, Center Manager, 15 Mangilao; Anna T. Tyquiengco, Center Manager, Merizo; Connie T. Borja, Center Manager, Santa Rita; Carmen C. Aguon, Center Manager, Sinajana; 16 Juan S.N. Naputi and Rosario S. Bueno, Center Managers, Tamuning; Dolores 17 C. Garcia, Center Manager, Yigo; Joann H. Manibusan, Center Manager, 18 Yona/Talafofo; now, therefore, be it 19

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, acknowledge that our Seniors are among Guam's greatest treasures; that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* has the greatest confidence in the abilities of the management and staff of our Senior Citizen Centers to provide safe and hospitable environments for our island's beloved seniors; and be it further

2

1 RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 2 3 thereafter transmitted to management and staff of the Senior Citizen Centers 4 of Agana Heights, Agat, Astumbo, Dededo, Inarajan, Mangilao, Merizo, Santa Rita, Sinajana, Tamuning, Yigo, and Yona/Talofofo; to Mr. Arthur San 5 Agustin, Director of the Department of Public Health and Social Services; to 6 7 Mr. Segundo Aguon, the Director of GovGuam Association of Retired 8 Persons, Inc./Servicio Para I Manåmko (GGARP-SPIMA; and to the Honorable 9 Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 1^{ST} DAY OF MAY 2007.

RK⁄FORBES RAY TENORIO Speaker Senator and Secretary of the Legislature